New Year ~ One Word

Photo Dec 31, 1 42 57 AMHappy New Year!!

Goodbye, 2013…hello brand new year full of possibilities!

Every year I usually make a list.  I actually make lots of lists…it’s kinda what I do.  I’m a list-maker.  I have lists all over the place, for everything.  (I even sometimes make lists of my lists…..I may have a minor problem.)

But at the start of each new year, I typically make a special list…the one that sets the pace for my whole year…the one where I list out all my hopes and dreams and goals for the year.  I put my little boxes next to each item and begin the year full of hope that at the end of the year I will look back and see every little box checked.  But that is never…NEVER…how it goes.  If I can even FIND the list by the end of the year (which is kinda ironic, since organization is typically always on the list somewhere), there are rarely more than a couple of boxes fully checked.  I look at that list and it screams at me, “you are a failure. again.”  So what do I do? I get out a fresh new piece of paper and make a new list!  Because that makes sense….I failed last year (and the year before that, and the year before that), so let’s just keep making that list, and this year, I’ll succeed….yeah…

I won’t say how many years I have repeated that cycle.  How many years I have had almost identical lists of [unmet] goals and dreams.  But I will say…I am not doing it this year.  No list this year. (well, no big list of goals anyway….there will be lists made…probably every day…I am a list-maker after all).  But as far as the big giant list of “what I will accomplish this year”…I’m saying no.

Instead, I’m choosing just one word.  One. Single. Word.

I’ve read about this idea in various places.  There’s even a whole website…a movement even…One Word 365 (you can check it out at http://oneword365.com/). So this is nothing new.  (Nothing I do or say really is).  But it is a new(er) concept to me…something I actually have a hard time with…zeroing in on one thing…keeping things simple…focusing.  But this year, I am going to try it.  I’m going to throw away the big list of “new years resolutions” and just focus on one word.

Of course, I completely just about stressed myself out trying to pick just one word.  There are so many good words…and I’m “stuck” with it for a whole year….oh the decisions!  So what did I do?  I made a list of possible words. (Kinda defeating the whole purpose of NOT making a list, I know…it’s going to take me some time to get the hang of this whole not making a list thing…I’m taking baby steps here….baby steps). So I looked at my list, and started narrowing it down.  I thought about it, prayed about it, and then somewhere in the middle of the whole process there’s this word that just kinda kept popping up…every day, for like a week….and it wasn’t even on my list!  But it’s the one I kept coming back to…the one I couldn’t quite shake.  And the more I thought about it, the more I realized that it is the one that I need the most right now, where I am.  It’s my one word for 2014.  The one I am claiming:

Photo Dec 31, 7 33 34 PMPeace.

This word started invading my thoughts when I heard something Ann Voskamp said in one of her Christmas videos (found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8c110ECbQTc)…she said “Make some space in the pace for some peace.”  She used scrabble letters to demonstrate actually moving the “P” away from the “A” in the word PACE and adding an “E” to make PEACE.  Such a simple illustration.  But it has lingered on my heart for weeks.

Make some space in the pace for peace.

This year I will make space.  I will add some margin to my life.  I will slow down the pace…or at least take a deep breath in the middle of the crazy pace…and make some space…for Christ.  The “E” for me will stand for Emmanuel – “God is with us” – God. With. ME.

As I intentionally make space and slow down my pace – focusing on God with me – every day, everywhere – on the good days and bad days – no matter what comes this year – my heart will have peace.

Our home will have peace.

My marriage…my friendships…my family….will have peace.

Because God fills all the spaces – He is with me. Always.

This does not mean that my days will be perfect. (Slowly, slowly, that perfectionist in me is dying…)

It does not mean that I’ll have it all together or that I won’t have bad days or my heart won’t break or I won’t cry or hard things won’t happen.

It just means that if I can slow down and make some space…even in the midst of the hard and the bad, in the middle of the great and the wonderful, and in every day in between…I can have peace.  I can make room and let God fill all the spaces and fill my heart with His peace.

This all sounds so amazing as I write it down.  A year of peace.  A year of slowing down and making space.

But let’s be realistic.  I will fail at this…a lot.  I will not be perfect.  I’ll stumble and fumble along the way.

But…I won’t give up. I am claiming this word…I am claiming peace this year.  In my home.  In my heart.  In my life.

Peace will be my one word.  And Colossians 3:15 will be my theme verse:

“And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts….and always be thankful.”

I just started this blog.  (This is my very first post…woo hoo!)  So I have no idea if anyone will actually read this…but in case you are reading this (and survived all my wordiness above), I wish you a wonderful {peace}-filled New Year!!!

{And if you want…share your One Word for this year?…}

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “New Year ~ One Word

  1. […] second year I’ve thrown away the long list of resolutions and instead just focused on one word.  A year ago I chose the word “Peace”…and even though I’m nowhere near an expert on the subject, by focusing on peace and […]

  2. […] the beginning of this year, I chose the word “peace” as my one word for the year. (You can read all about that in my first post here).  Since then I have been really trying to wrap my heart around what real peace really is. […]

  3. Julie January 9, 2014 at 9:45 am Reply

    Ah! Your path! You found it!!

    • Jennifer Tucker January 10, 2014 at 4:42 pm

      For this year, anyway 😉 (Thank you, Julie ❤ )

  4. Micki January 2, 2014 at 12:32 am Reply

    ❤ this…and you!

    • Jennifer Tucker January 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

      Hey look, I figured out how to reply! 😉 ❤ you too Micki!! (And thank you for your sweet friendship and support ❤ )

Leave a Reply

