On Peace and Trust

At the beginning of this year, I chose the word “peace” as my one word for the year. (You can read all about that in my first post here).  Since then I have been really trying to wrap my heart around what real peace really is.  I’ve been reading and thinking and praying and reflecting…trying to unwrap this one word that shows up almost 250 times in the Bible.

Peace.

This year has not exactly been full of peaceful situations.  Finding peace every day has not been easy.  But then again, I don’t think God could really teach me about peace without bringing in situations that are the opposite of peaceful.

On easy days, days full of roses and sunshine and smiles…in those slow, calm moments when no one is fighting and everyone is happy and the flowers are blooming and birds are singing…it’s easy to “feel” peaceful on those kind of days.  And I think that’s often the kind of situation that we envision when we think of the word “peace.”  Calm. Safe. Happy. Beautiful. Peaceful.

But the more I read, the more I pray, the more that God shows me in His Word…revealing to me slowly, because I am such a slow learner…what His peace is all about…the more I am coming to understand that peace has nothing to do with feelings, or with circumstances. Peace, real peace, is found in a Person – in Jesus.

Peace is not about how I feel…peace is about Who I trust.

Because, let’s be honest…those calm, safe, beautiful, happy, peaceful days that we dream of as “peaceful”…those are so very rare, aren’t they?  They do come along, those beautiful calm days, every now and then…and some seasons of life may have more days that feel peaceful than others.  But real peace is going to be most evident in the days that are everything but “peaceful.”

When my heart is broken…when the kids are fighting and screaming…when dinner burned and ruined…when friends turn away…when feelings are hurt…when they say those words that cut deep and hard…when sickness invades…when we have to say goodbye…

In those days…days of uncertainty and sadness and pain, days of change and loneliness and unrest…it’s in those days that we can experience peace that goes deeper than any feeling, because it goes right straight to the Person of Peace, the One in whom ALL peace is found – Jesus.

And we have that peace when we TRUST Him…through it ALL.  We have that peace when we keep our thoughts on Him, not on the waves of circumstances crashing all around us.  Because when we keep our eyes on Him – when we trust that He is in control and He is working it all together for our ultimate good – the Bible says that He will keep us in “perfect peace.”

Isaiah 26:3

I’m printing out this verse this week.  I’m going to write it on my heart, so that I don’t forget.  Because I do tend to forget.  I lean toward worry and anxiety, when I should be leaning into Jesus.  I tend to dwell on the problems and the pain instead of trusting in the One who holds it ALL in His hands.

And it’s really all an issue of trust.  Because trust brings peace.  If I really trust God…if I truly trust in Him, that He loves me and that He has a wonderful plan for me, and that He can work everything out for good…if I truly trust that, then my soul can always have peace.  If I keep my thoughts, my mind, my heart fixed on Him – on His goodness, on His grace, on His love – then I have no need to worry, no need to fear, no need to be anxious.

I can have peace, because I have Him…and He. Is. Peace.

 

{Would you like to print this verse too? Here are a couple of different sizes for you}

Isaiah 26:3 – 8×8 Square Print

Isaiah 26:3 – 4×4 Square Print

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

